Coming 3 July 24

A powerful love story, set against the fall of the Berlin Wall, in which one woman’s quest for identity and healing also becomes the single way she can honour her grandparents, whose lives were irreversibly shattered by the Holocaust.

For, Susanna, a young Jewish-Australian violinist, a scholarship to Berlin is the chance of a lifetime. Germany is on the verge of change as the wall is torn down, and Susanna is swept along by the tumultuous event. Under the careful guidance of Stefan Heinemeyer, her renowned violin teacher and the grandson of a Nazi, she begins a composition in memory of her grandmother, Mirla, who died in the Buchenwald concentration camp during the Second World War.

Just as her musical career is about to go stratospheric, a forbidden yearning for Stefan begins to unfurl. This changes Susanna’s life forever, and the repercussions echo through decades and across continents.


The Sunshine Coast Book Launch – 4 July 2024


The Sunshine Coast book launch for The Girl with the Violin by Shelley Davidow features two amazing women on violin performing pieces from the novel. There will be a two course dinner (with wine) and Shelley Davidow will be in conversation talking about the book with Sally Piper.

Where: Sunshine Beach Surf Life Saving Club.
When: July 4th, 6pm
Cost: $90.

To book, please call Annie’s Books on Peregian at (07) 5448-2053 to make your reservation. See you there!

Background to The Girl With The Violin

Shelley Davidow is originally from South Africa but has spent two decades living and working all over the world. She is now based on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast in Australia. Although she never aspired to be a globe-trotter and in fact, coveted stability, living in diverse places has given her a far-ranging experience of humanity which, she believes, is never a bad thing for a writer.

Recent Releases

A selection of titles by Shelley Davidow

Raising Stress-Proof Kids by Shelley Davidow
Fail Brilliantly by Shelley Davidow and Paul Williams
Playing with Words by Paul Williams and Shelley Davidow
The Eye of the Moon by Shelley Davidow
Whisperings in the Blood by Shelley Davidow
High Infidelity by Shelley Davidow
To Have and to Hold by Shelley Davidow
FreeFalling by Shelley Davidow
In the Shadow of Inyangani by Shelley Davidow
Spirit of The Mountain by Shelley Davidow
Lights Over Emerald Creek by Shelley Davidow
The Wise Enchanter- A Journey Through the Alphabet by Shelley Davidow
abc logo

Listen, watch, read and download  a range of media interviews with Shelley Davidow here